Gimmelwald, Switzerland

Prepare to have your mind blown. This is Gimmelwald, Switzerland, a small mountain village (4,593ft above sea level) in the Swiss Alps. The town only has about a hundred people, and the only way to access it is by gondola. The area is one of the most popular extreme sports destinations for paragliding, hang gliding, BASE jumping, bungee jumping, skiing, and mountain biking in the world, besides New Zealand. Wow as a photographer, this is hands down the most picturesque place I have ever been. No cars allowed, cows and goats grazing everywhere, the most intense hikes you can imagine in every direction, and massive glaciers on every peak. I can’t believe I got to stay here for eight days!

About mikeslagter

Travel | Action Sports | Lifestyle Photographer
This entry was posted in Adventure Sports, EuroTrip, Inspirational and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

33 Responses to Gimmelwald, Switzerland

  1. Sarah says:

    Gorgeous! I was in Switzerland a few years ago with my boyfriend at the time. I really wanted to go to Gimmelwald, but he didn’t believe me when I told him how amazing it’s supposed to be. We went to Grindelwald instead. It was very beautiful, but I’m always a bit bummed that I didn’t make it to Gimmelwald!

  2. Lisa says:

    Truly stunning views!

  3. Wow! My stomach felt funky from the pic of the person hanging on the cable bridge. Beautiful pictures.

  4. TOLA ADENLE says:

    Thanks, Mike for giving me a chance to see these stunning views because I just know that Gimmelwald is one place I’m not likely to ever go! Now, how do these hundred folks bring back shopping from the nearest town???? emotanafricana.com

  5. Awesome shots Michael! What a scenic place Gimmelwald is. I love the photo of the ice cave.

  6. Very impressed, photos of enormous beauty. I will keep on seeing your blog. A greeting

  7. Consider my mind blown. What a place, you must have wept when you had to leave.

  8. kaoru6581 says:

    I love your shots, really capture the natural beauty of all the places that you visit! I have a quick question about the Honesty Shop photo – what are the hours it’s open? looks like 9 to 18 inches but I can’t be sure but I’m really curious : )

  9. Rachel says:

    Amazing photos of an amazing place! Thanks for sharing. I’d love to visit there… but not to go on the bridge, though. : )

  10. I’m really jealous on almost every of those pictires…

  11. Awesome photographs, would like to see the shot of the waterfall you are taking in that last photo.

  12. Very wonderful pictures :).

  13. aishaspetitartsalon says:

    It is beautiful and make me wanting to Europe!

  14. jdlarkin says:

    Amazing photos to document an amazing trip! Well done!

  15. Christian says:

    This is a nerve wracking awesome photos…

  16. Nino Farinella says:

    Hi Mike,
    The photos are really beautiful. A very good job.
    Good Luck!
    Josie & Nino Farinella

  17. I love the one of the man dangling, oooh! Makes you feel like your really there! Also the picture of the mountains are really nice, amazing shots! Nice texture and well…everything!
    Keep going!

  18. Brad Meyers says:

    freaking amazing! πŸ˜€

  19. what anice panorama…!

  20. Mark Hobin says:

    These photos are incredible. I was blown away just from the images. I can only imagine what it was like to be there!

  21. millar123 says:

    Someone wants to base jump off that platform * flabbergasted* WHY!?
    Brilliant photographs though!!!

  22. sluethi says:

    Excellent post, thanks for making me know about this place… will look to go there soon!! fantastic photos by the way

  23. mschristiner says:

    What an epic adventure! You sure have courage! πŸ™‚

  24. nelson RN says:

    Oh my… they are so beautiful! Thanks for sharing!

  25. good memories to me mind!!! πŸ™‚

  26. Stephanie says:

    Please please please explain what was happening in that one picture where the guy was hanging off the bridge. Did he just… decide to feel what it felt like?!? GAH!

    • mikeslagter says:

      he was just pushing the limits to try to get a more “extreme” picture haha he’s been living there for 4 months and has done that ropes coarse a bunch of times…so he thought since I had my camera he’d try something new lol

  27. Ylenia says:

    Hi there, I have just found your blog which i found amazing. You are a very talented photographer and your pictures are incredible. I haven’t see all your past posts yet, but have you been to Iceland? if not, please plan yourself a trip because it is a real ‘paradise’ for photographers.
    I’ll come back for sure and again, bravo!

    Love, Ylenia | Longuette

  28. Magalie says:

    Wow, amazing!!! I need to add this to my list of future destinations! πŸ™‚

  29. diskeskarangasem says:

    Amazing,,wanna go there someday πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

